It’s All About the Second Shot

Last weekend, I didn’t get a chance to post. But it’s not because I don’t care. It’s because I was at the Dutch Open! Andrea’s family attends every year and this year, I was invited to join. So, I did. For the first time ever, I went golfing. And I loved it. Finally – a sport that I understand! And as it turns out, I’m pretty good at putting. Who knew?

Everybody wears orange at the Dutch Open. They just do.
Big floppy hats protect pasty white ladies from melanoma.

So…what is the Dutch Open? Well, I’ll tell you. Every year, the Whisky Run Golf Club in Port Colborne holds a golf tournament for anyone who cares to join. (I doubt you would ever see the likes of Tiger Woods there, but there are some pretty good amateur golfers.)

Throughout the course, there are different challenges. For instance, at one of the holes, you get to tee off in wooden shoes! It tried it. It was pretty difficult, but very fun. At the end of the course, there’s a big dinner and a raffle and prizes for the winners of the challenges. I won a dutch flag. You know, the kind that people put on their car windows? Yeah, those ones. Except, I’m not Dutch. And I don’t have a car. But it was still pretty fun to win something.

To be honest, I didn’t do as much actual golfing as everyone else. I was having tonnes of fun driving the cart around and drinking beer and wearing my big floppy hat.

Where else can an unlicensed driver drive around AND drink beer at the same time? Nowhere, as far as I know.

It felt like we were going super fast!

I had a lot of fun with the golfing and the driving and now I have the golfing bug. So I started checking out different places to golf in the area, as Whisky Run is a pretty long drive. So, here are a few courses and driving ranges I found in the area.

Chedoke Golf Course
I’m told this is a pretty good course. It’s got a great view of the city and two full courses. It’s open to the public with day rates, value packs or memberships available.

Willow Valley Golf Course
I haven’t heard much from anyone who has golfed here, but it looks pretty fancy, including a pretty strict dress code. You can even get lessons here, if you’re looking.

Hamilton Golf and Country Club
This is a members-only club. If you’re looking for an exclusive experience this might be a good place to start. They even have a caddie program, for those of you who don’t like to carry your own clubs.

Kings Forest Golf Club
This one is pretty comparable to Chedoke. It’s open to the public, with value packs and day-rates available. And you can even book your own tournament.

Now, I don’t purport to be any sort of expert on golf courses. These are just a few that I found in the Hamilton area. If you’re looking for more information, the GolfMax website would be a good place to start. They have listings of golf courses in different cities. Here is the list for Hamilton.

Leave a Reply

