No Actual Promises

Well, big surprise, I haven’t written in ages. No posts, no ramblings, no jotting notes on the commuter train. In fact, I haven’t even signed in to my WordPress account for over two months. Shame on me. The sad truth of it is this: I just didn’t care. In the past several months, I’ve been dealing with a whirlwind of family illness; home-sickness; holiday madness; an apparently unwarranted fear of the apocalypse; and preparing to head back to work on a full-time basis. Altogether, it’s some crazy-making shit.
Now, I want to say that my Number One New Year’s Resolution is to write more and set a schedule and stick to it and all that but, let’s be real for a moment. I work for a company that does 90% of its business between January and May. This means that I work long hours, sometimes six or seven days in a row. Sometimes, I have to deal with very upset clients. Sometimes, I have to deal with clients who are just jerks. And sometimes, I don’t get to take a lunch break. To be frank, at the end of the day I’m not very likely to sit down and write about all of the things that I want to do in this fine city, but don’t have time for. When you add in that I’ll be taking on quite a bit more responsibility in my job (starting two weeks from now), the likelihood drops even further.
That’s not to say that I know, without any shadow of a doubt, that I won’t be writing or putting up any new posts until tax season ends. Chances are, I’ll probably sit in my office and write partial posts on my lunch breaks and eventually post them. It’s just that I know, without a shadow of a doubt, that I cannot promise anything in that department. I can’t promise that I’ll write every week. I can’t promise that my posts will be worth the wait. Hell, I can’t even promise that I’ll try to write regularly. But I will try to write when I feel like it. If I start something, I will try to finish it. I will try to get it posted. I will even try to make it interesting. But still, I make no actual promises. So there.

Leave a Reply

