Happy Birthday

If you’ve been checking in, you’ll know that I haven’t been posting much of anything lately. I’ve got plenty of excuses, but I’m not here to talk about that. Not today.

Today, February 20, 2014 is my Aunt Lynda’s birthday. Today, she would have been forty-nine. If you’ve been reading along, you’ll know that she passed away in July of this past year. I have thought of her and I have mourned her and I have missed her every day. Every. Single. Day. It has been a struggle to move through life; to celebrate milestones and successes; even to laugh. But today, rather than tell you how painful it has been to lose her, I wish to share some of the good things she brought in to my own life and the lives of so many other people.

Aunt Lynda was a good person. She wasn’t Ghandi and she didn’t stop global warming or find a cure for the common cold. She wasn’t a saint. But she didn’t need to be. Because she was simply a good person. To me, she was a second mother. She took care of me and she gave me shit and she held me when I cried. She taught me to bake – she even taught me how to make those little fondant roses that go on the tops of cakes. And she gave the best hugs in the whole world. The kind of hugs that just make you want to hug back with everything you have. And it didn’t matter whether she was just saying hello or congratulating you or comforting you on the worst day of your life – those hugs were always given with so much love.

Lynda wasn’t just a mom to me. She was also like an older sister to my brother, Dave. Lynda was only a teenager when Dave was born and I can’t count all the stories I’ve heard over the years about how much she followed him around and took care of him and thought he was just the cutest thing ever. Seriously. So many stories. And Dave can back them up. He was there.

One of the greatest things Aunt Lynda did with her life, though, was bring two amazing little girls into the world. And she raised them to be amazing and beautiful young women. Sarah and Caitlin are the closest thing I have to sisters and I am beyond grateful to have them in my life. Even though they both tattled on me all the time and I constantly got in trouble and it’s all their fault.

Although I miss her terribly and I wish every day that she were still here, I am so happy to have known her; to have loved and been loved by her; and to have known the power and the beauty of such amazing hugs.

Happy Birthday Aunt Lynda.

One thought on “Happy Birthday

  1. So glad to see that you’re writing again Kimmie. It’s wonderful to see you making use of the talent I’ve seen develop over the years. This was a very balanced tribute to your aunt–just the right balance of humor, personal reflection and heartfelt sentiment. Please keep going with the writing!

Leave a Reply

