Love is Not a Resort Getaway

It’s funny how sometimes, we come across something that is just so perfectly fitting for a situation. Or a blog post that we’ve been working on for a few days. Like this little gem that showed up in my news feed this evening:

CrossOceans

It’s fitting for a number of reasons. Firstly, and most obviously, I just got back from a trip to British Columbia. It was absolutely life changing. I was there visiting a most excellent friend who moved out there with her family this past summer. I have missed her immensely and travelling across the country to sit by the fire and drink wine with her was exactly the right thing. It was a necessary thing. It was a beautiful thing. I did so many things for the first time, like flying alone, seeing mountains, swimming in the ocean (it was cold…like, really fucking cold) and hunting for mushrooms in a forest that looked like a real-life Fern Gully. I also took the time to do some soul searching, to really think about some important parts of my life without the distractions of real life. And I thought a lot about love. Talked about it a lot, too.

And that’s the second part of why this is so fitting. Love is a topic that comes up in discussion pretty frequently in my life. I think about it a lot and I talk about it a lot and my friends think about it and talk about it a lot. I’ve come to realize some pretty amazing things, both during and since my trip.

Above all, love is beautiful. I already knew this, but it’s something that bears repeating. I have fallen in love many times in my life. Some might view this as problematic. But I don’t. Sometimes, that love has been reciprocated, sometimes it hasn’t. Sometimes, it’s been only fleeting and sometimes, it’s lasted much longer than I expected. And always, it has been scary. It is scary because it is beautiful and it is unpredictable and it is something worth protecting. But it is also something that is so worth sharing.

It can be incredibly terrifying to be open and honest with our hearts. It’s scary to tell someone how you feel, not knowing how they might feel in return or what they might say. But in the words of Mark Sloan (if you don’t know who that is, you definitely need to start watching Grey’s Anatomy. Try to keep up) “say it loud and let the pieces fall where they may”. It certainly might get messy. But it might get really good. You just don’t know until you say it. Because love is not a resort getaway. You don’t get to plan out the itinerary and eat meals from a pre-arranged menu. It is a fucking adventure. You might get your knees scraped. You might get lost down some dirt road. But you also might get to see mountains for the first time and feel your heart grow fuller and calmer at the very sight of them. And even if you don’t get what you were expecting or hoping for, you’ll know that you can do it. You’ll know that you’ll be able to do it again. And that person will know that they are loved. And that is a beautiful and powerful thing.

So, just say it. Go on that adventure.

I’ll start.

I love you.

Leave a Reply

