Living Alone is the Shit

Paint
I might have fallen off that ladder, but I painted this place all by myself. 

Since I got back from out west, I’ve been wicked motivated. I’ve been working super hard on a couple of projects, including making some much needed updates around here – maybe you noticed, it’s looking much tidier and (if I do say so myself) prettier? While making these updates, I was looking through a bunch of my old posts and came across this post where I talked about moving into my own place.

At the time, I was super nervous about living on my own. I’d never had to be responsible for a household all by myself; I didn’t really have any furniture; and I was pretty worried that I would get scared being alone at night. I was still pretty excited, but I just didn’t know what to expect or how I’d feel about it, as I’d always lived with at least one other person, usually more.

I’ve been living on my own for a year and a half now, and I can say with absolute certainty that it was the best decision I’ve ever made. Here’s why:

  1. I have this whole space to myself. All of it. Sure, it’s not big, but every square inch of it is mine. I don’t have to make room for anyone else or their stuff.
  2. I get to have first and final say on where things go. Furniture, pictures, plants, books. I don’t have to compromise on anything.
  3. This one wasn’t super obvious to me right away, but I get to learn all kinds of new stuff. Without someone else here to rely on to fix things or build things, I’ve been forced to learn it for myself. Yes, I could have asked my landlord to put the new weather stripping on my patio door last winter – and I know that he would have – but why? It took me five minutes to look up a tutorial and I had it finished by the end of the day. I’ve also learned to put up wall-mounted shelves; lay new caulking on my counter (tomorrow, I’m doing the shower); and how to fix my wobbly lamp – it doesn’t wobble anymore! It’s been pretty amazing figuring out that I can figure out how to do these things on my own.
  4. I’ve learned to not rely on other people or wait on other people. In the past, when making plans, I often would have deferred to my partner or my room-mates to make decisions. Living with people is like having a built-in security blanket for social occasions. Now that I’m on my own, I make all the decisions about whether and when I want to go out. And I often find myself a lot more willing to go out on my own for coffee or a drink. It’s made me a lot more independent in so many areas of my life.

If you’ve ever considered living alone, I strongly suggest you do it. Even if it’s only for a little while. It’s totally liberating to realize how capable you really are and sometimes, it takes being on your own – not being able to rely on someone else, having to make all of your own decisions – to truly realize that. Maybe you’re thinking, “but Kimmifer, living alone is more expensive!” Sure, splitting the rent can definitely make the bills cheaper, but the trade off is amazing. So, go and do it! It’ll be great. Even if it’s scary.

Leave a Reply

