I Love Love

I’m honestly not a big fan of Valentine’s Day, for a few reasons. Partly because I think the commercially driven, over-glamourization of what love ‘should’ look like and what relationships ‘should’ be is a little fucked up. It puts pressure on relationships and can make things weird and uncomfortable when they really don’t need to be. Partly because I think if you love someone, you should just go ahead and tell them, instead of waiting for a designated day. And also, partly because saying that I don’t like Valentine’s Day is often met with astonishment. “How can you not like Valentine’s Day?!” “You must hate love!” “Don’t be such a spoilsport!” “Oh, if you were in love, you would understand!” “Oh, you’re just bitter!”

All of these assumptions are terrible and complete bullshit. I actually LOVE love. I think it’s the most beautiful thing in the world. I think that we absolutely should celebrate the love we have for one another and share that love with each other. The problem I have is not with the concept of love, but with the idea that someone else thinks they can tell me how to go about loving another person. My problem is with the expectations set for a relationship based on something completely arbitrary and not at all related to that relationship.

Now, don’t get me wrong. If my partner or lover told me that Valentine’s Day is important to them, I would definitely make the effort to make it special. I’m not a monster. And if I’m being totally honest, I do kind of love the amount of effort people put in to celebrating love. The red and pink streamers and the cupcakes and the chocolates. And the cinnamon hearts. Damn, I just love those hot little candies.

So, if you love Valentine’s Day, then go on out there and celebrate the shit out of it! Buy the cheesy cards, make cupcakes, tell people how much you love them! Just don’t tell me I’m a jerk for not doing the same.

ALSO!

HAPPY GALENTINE’S DAY!
Galentines

One thought on “I Love Love

Leave a Reply

