The Shower Principle Doesn’t Always Work

I’m a big believer in the ‘Shower Principle’ which is the idea that performing a mundane task – like showering, for instance – leaves your brain free to mull over ideas and find solutions to problems. I started using it years ago, opting to wash dishes or vacuum the carpet when faced with writer’s block. It was working well but then it sort of spiraled out of control and now every time I get the urge to write, I also get the urge to wash dishes and now I have a lot of clean dishes and nothing written.

So. While fighting the urge to clean all the things, I decided to set myself a challenge. For thirty days, starting today, I’m going to write something every day. Every. Day. It feels a little daunting and I imagine some days will be pretty boring so some days y’all might just get one-liners on how much I love chocolate. Other days, you may get pages-long diatribes about the merits of living in this wonderful city. Either way, you’ll be reading something. And, just in case you were wondering, yes I made some rules for my Thirty-Day Writing Challenge (it looks so official when I use capital letters, right?). And here are the rules:

Rule #1: Write something every day for the next thirty days.

Rule #2: There are no other rules, because fuck that.

So, I guess you’re in for a real treat. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

